Best Chest

As women, shopping for anything can be a pain. Whether it’s bathing suits, dresses, or bras. We tend to get frustrated when we can’t seem to find what exactly we’re looking for. Maybe because we’re looking for more than just a dress. We’re on a search to find that one dress that will make our night. We want to feel sexy, comfortable, and confident. But this is easier said than done. And although this pain is more our mentality than our wallet or feet, it hurts us all the same. Shopping for bras should not cause this kind of stress. In fact, bra shopping should be simple, fun, and relaxing.

Wearing the correct bra and getting fitted can affect this anxiety while shopping. I know from experience, and I believe almost every woman can understand the dissatisfaction we feel while trying on multiple bras and not receiving the silhouette you truly want. Not understanding exactly what you’re looking for and having that longing feel so out of reach. Partly blaming your own body and the product. But once you find that one bra, one size, everything seems to change.

Your world does a spin, you’re confused as to how you can possibly be that bra size. And yet, none of that matters when you’re in the fitting room, finally achieving that satisfaction while wearing a bra. Your posture is straighter, and your chest is lifted yet covered. This is what you were truly shopping for this entire time. That feeling. That confidence. It makes sense why you had so many issues, and you wish you knew this sooner. Bra shopping begins to make you feel at ease. You know what size, you’re experimenting with style, and you enjoy looking at the different colors, fabrics, and prints. A weight has been lifted from your shoulders (literally) and bra shopping is no longer the hassle it once was.

It’s unfortunate to say, but our self esteem does correlate with our breast size and bra issues. It’s a sad reality women face on a daily basis.

“Are my breasts big enough?”, “Are they too big?”, “I wish they were rounder and perkier”, “I wish they looked perfect”.

What we fail to remember, is that our bodies are beautiful no matter what. Breasts are a part of your natural physique and harping on their size and look is a waste of energy. Do girls with large, perky breasts have higher self esteem? Most likely not, because everyone finds some sort of flaw within themselves.

I understand feeling self conscious about bust size. Starting in just sixth grade, I envied the quicker developing girls around me. While my peers complained about having to wear bras, I was ecstatic sporting my new training bras, excited for the years to come and to feel and look like a woman. But I believe this is where the issue begins. We correlate femininity with breasts. We succumb to the pressure to present our bodies as sexual instead of natural.

People often times make fun of the girls that wear bras with lots of push-up padding, saying they’re “false advertising”, when that isn’t the case. I see women everyday expressing their insecurities with their breasts, and I believe if some padded bra cups improve your day and make you feel beautiful, then great. But I also believe most of these women feel insecure because their bras are not supporting them. They let their egos drop lower than their busts, giving up on the ability to love yourself under the shirt.

All of my bras are fun, pretty, and flattering. Ever since I started working at Victoria’s Secret, I refused to wear — or even own — a bra that did not make me feel my best. Everyday I am happy to clasp my bra and feel the confidence under my shirt. So go out and buy the prettiest bras you can find — they don’t need to be expensive. They don’t need to look sexy for anyone else. Buy your favorite patterns and colors, and the styles that feel most comfortable for you. I guarantee you, a pretty and proper fitting bra will improve your life.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Pingback: Cupcakes | Poof!

Leave a comment